Best Retail Traffic Counter Devices for Tracking Store Visits

The best retail traffic counter depends on how you want to review visits: the FOORIR counter offers app-based tracking and CSV exports, the Pearl counters provide Wi-Fi reporting, and the display model shows entry and exit counts on the device. The upgraded counter adds short-interval data and long-term storage. Compare the options below by reporting method, entrance needs, and installation preferences.

Device Best For Key Feature
FOORIR Infrared People Counter Quick app-based monitoring CSV report exports
Pearl Wireless People Counter Wi-Fi-connected reporting Hourly IN and OUT data
People Counter with Display On-device count viewing Separate directional counts
Upgrade People Counter 2.0 Detailed traffic intervals Five-minute and hourly data
Pearl Counter for Adult and Child Counting Stores tracking adults and children Selectable counting modes

FOORIR Infrared People Counter

FOORIR infrared bidirectional retail people counter

Check Price on Amazon

Best for: Small retailers who want to check traffic trends from a phone and export data for further analysis. The listed features include bidirectional counting with dual infrared beams, app-based monitoring, and CSV report exports.

The counter is designed for quick mounting with adhesive, without drilling or wiring. Its app can show traffic trends and peak hours, which may help managers review staffing patterns and store activity.

Limitation: App features depend on using a phone, so this is less suitable for staff who need a count displayed directly on the device. The product information does not specify an entrance-width range.

Pearl Wireless People Counter With Wi-Fi

Pearl Wi-Fi wireless people counter with app reporting

Check Price on Amazon

Best for: Retailers who want automated IN and OUT counts with hourly updates on a phone or tablet. The Pearl connects to a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network and provides a cloud-connected app for reviewing traffic.

Its listed entrance coverage is up to 15 feet wide, or up to 7 feet in bright sunlight. Mounting brackets are included, and installation can use screw holes or adhesive tape. This makes it a flexible choice for stores that want remote reporting without a wired sensor setup.

Limitation: The product requires an internet connection and Wi-Fi network. Check the entrance width and lighting conditions against the stated operating range before choosing it.

People Counter With Bidirectional Display

Wireless bidirectional people counter with digital display

Check Price on Amazon

Best for: Stores that prefer to see entry and exit totals on the counter instead of relying on an app. This wireless, battery-operated model displays the two directional counts separately and can be reset with the supplied magnet.

The product is described as suitable for passageways up to 26 feet wide and includes mounting material. Choose it if a straightforward display and separate directional totals matter more than cloud reporting or exported data.

Limitation: Batteries are not included. The listed features do not describe phone-based reporting or data exports, so it may not fit retailers who need those functions.

Upgrade People Counter 2.0

Upgraded wireless smart retail door people counter

Check Price on Amazon

Best for: Retail operators who want more granular traffic data or need to review activity across multiple doors. The listed features include hourly and five-minute segments, an independent code for each unit, and storage for up to 36 months of historical data.

The counter has two buttons and a rechargeable 3,000 mAh battery described as lasting one to two months under standard usage. Its detachable mounting design is intended to make charging easier without removing the wall panel.

Limitation: Battery life is stated for standard usage, so actual charging needs may vary. The provided product information does not specify a phone app or entrance-width range.

Pearl Counter With Adult And Child Modes

Pearl wireless people counter with adult and child counting options

Check Price on Amazon

Best for: Stores that want to choose between counting adults only and counting adults and children. Like the other listed Pearl model, it reports IN and OUT traffic, sends hourly updates to a phone or tablet, and uses Wi-Fi with a cloud-connected app.

The stated coverage is up to 15 feet wide, reduced to 7 feet in bright sunlight. Installation uses included brackets, with screw-hole and adhesive mounting options. Choose this version when its selectable counting modes match the store’s reporting needs.

Limitation: Wi-Fi and internet access are required, and bright sunlight reduces the stated entrance-width coverage. Review the entrance conditions before installation.

How To Choose A Retail Traffic Counter

Do you need an app, a display, or detailed data?

Choose an app-connected model if managers need to review counts remotely. The FOORIR product lists app monitoring and CSV exports, while the Pearl models offer cloud-connected hourly reporting. Choose the display counter if staff need to view separate IN and OUT totals at the entrance. The Upgrade 2.0 is the option described with five-minute and hourly segments and long-term stored data.

How wide and bright is the entrance?

Check the sensor’s specified coverage before selecting a device. The Pearl products list coverage up to 15 feet, with a narrower 7-foot range in bright sunlight. The display counter lists suitability for passages up to 26 feet. The other supplied product details do not state an entrance-width range, so confirm fit with the manufacturer if the doorway is wide.

What installation and power setup suits your store?

Adhesive mounting can suit locations where drilling is undesirable or a temporary setup is useful. The FOORIR and Upgrade 2.0 descriptions emphasize no-drill mounting; the Pearl includes brackets and adhesive mounting options. The display counter is battery-operated, but batteries are not included. The Upgrade 2.0 has a rechargeable battery, so consider whether charging access is convenient.

Will you track one entrance or several?

For multiple doors, consider whether each counter can keep its data distinct. The Upgrade 2.0 description specifically notes an independent code and local area network for each machine. For any device, verify how its app or reporting system organizes separate entrances before relying on combined store totals.

Retail Traffic Counter FAQs

What does a retail traffic counter measure?

A retail traffic counter records people passing through an entrance. Bidirectional models can separate entries from exits, helping stores compare visits with staffing or sales activity.

Do people counters need Wi-Fi?

Not all models do. The Pearl counters require Wi-Fi and internet access for their connected reporting, while the provided details describe the display counter as wireless and battery-operated.

Can a people counter track entries and exits separately?

Yes. The FOORIR, Pearl, and display models are described as bidirectional or as reporting IN and OUT counts. Check each model’s reporting method to confirm how those totals are presented.

Which counter is best for a wide entrance?

The display counter lists passageways up to 26 feet wide. The Pearl models list up to 15 feet, or 7 feet in bright sunlight. Compare the stated range with the entrance conditions before purchase.

Can traffic data help with staffing decisions?

Traffic reports can show when visits rise or fall. Hourly or five-minute intervals may help managers compare busy periods and plan staffing, but the counter records traffic rather than making staffing decisions.

Comments

No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *