The best HDMI 2.1 docking station depends on your host device, monitor setup, and required refresh rate. The Plugable Thunderbolt 5 Dock is best for dual HDMI displays, while the UGREEN Steam Deck Dock suits compact gaming setups. Dell’s dock is a strong choice for business users who need several display connections. Anker’s dock offers Thunderbolt 5 expansion with HDMI 2.1, and UGREEN’s 10-in-1 model is a more basic dual-monitor option whose listing does not specify HDMI 2.1.
| Dock | Best For | Video Highlights |
|---|---|---|
| Plugable Thunderbolt 5 Dock | Dual HDMI 2.1 displays | Up to 8K 60Hz or 4K 144Hz with Thunderbolt 5 hosts |
| Dell Pro Thunderbolt 4 Smart Dock | Business and multi-display setups | HDMI 2.1 plus DisplayPort, USB-C, and Thunderbolt 4 video |
| UGREEN Steam Deck Dock | Gaming and portable use | HDMI 2.1 up to 4K 120Hz |
| Anker Prime TB5 Dock | Thunderbolt 5 connectivity | HDMI 2.1 or DisplayPort 2.1; up to 8K 60Hz single display |
| UGREEN 10-in-1 USB-C Dock | Everyday dual-monitor connections | Two HDMI ports; listed modes include dual 4K 60Hz |
Plugable Thunderbolt 5 Dock

Best for: Users who want two direct HDMI 2.1 connections and extensive USB-C connectivity. This 16-in-1 dock includes two HDMI 2.1 ports, six USB-C ports, 2.5Gbps Ethernet, UHS-II card readers, and laptop charging up to 140W.
With a Thunderbolt 5 host, the listed display support reaches 8K at 60Hz or 4K at 144Hz. The dock also supports dual 4K at 120Hz with Thunderbolt 4 hosts. Its native HDMI ports avoid the need for video adapters, which makes it a particularly direct fit for an HDMI 2.1 dual-monitor setup.
Limitation: The highest listed display modes depend on the host connection. Choose this dock if you need its port selection and display performance; avoid assuming every laptop will support the maximum refresh rate.
Dell Pro Thunderbolt 4 Smart Dock

Best for: Office users who need several display-output types and high-power laptop charging. The dock combines HDMI 2.1, two DisplayPort 1.4 connections, USB-C, and two Thunderbolt 4 ports. Dell lists support for up to four 4K monitors, along with up to 130W charging for Dell systems and 96W for other devices.
Its varied video connections can help when a workspace mixes monitor inputs. Thunderbolt 4 data connectivity and 2.5GbE are also listed, and the dock can chain up to six devices. It is better suited to a multi-display desk than a minimal travel kit.
Limitation: The highest charging figure is specified for Dell devices; the listing gives a lower figure for other systems. Confirm the host and display configuration before relying on four-monitor operation.
UGREEN Steam Deck Dock

Best for: Portable gaming setups that need HDMI 2.1 video, wired networking, and peripheral connections. The dock supports up to 4K at 120Hz and lists VRR, FreeSync, and G-Sync support with compatible displays. Other connections include two USB-A 3.0 ports, one USB-C 3.0 data port, and Gigabit Ethernet.
Its 100W power-delivery input can provide up to 85W to the host device, according to the product details. That makes it a compact choice for users who want a single hub for display, charging, network, and accessories.
Limitation: The listed host-device charging is up to 85W, not the full 100W input. The maximum video mode and variable-refresh features also require compatible equipment.
Anker Prime Thunderbolt 5 Dock

Best for: Users prioritizing Thunderbolt 5 expansion, fast file connections, and flexible video outputs. This 14-in-1 dock has one HDMI 2.1 or DisplayPort 2.1 connection, two Thunderbolt 5 downstream ports, two USB-C ports, three USB-A ports, card readers, 2.5Gbps Ethernet, and an audio jack.
The listing specifies up to 8K at 60Hz for a single display. It also describes dual 8K at 60Hz for Thunderbolt 5 Windows laptops using the dock’s display connections. An active cooling system is included for operation under load.
Limitation: This is not a dual-HDMI dock: the listing describes one HDMI 2.1 or DisplayPort 2.1 port, with additional video through Thunderbolt 5. Check that your host supports the display arrangement you want.
UGREEN 10-In-1 USB-C Dock

Best for: Buyers who want two HDMI outputs and everyday laptop expansion, without needing a product explicitly specified as HDMI 2.1. The dock includes two HDMI ports, a 100W USB-C PD input, USB-C and USB-A data ports, Ethernet, and SD and microSD card readers. Listed video modes are dual 4K at 60Hz or single 8K at 30Hz through HDMI 2.
This model is a practical comparison point for standard dual-monitor workstations. It also supports data transfers up to 5Gbps through its listed USB data ports.
Limitation: The product details do not identify the HDMI ports as HDMI 2.1, so do not select it when confirmed HDMI 2.1 bandwidth is required. The listing also notes that MacBook displays mirror one another, and its USB ports do not provide charging or video output.
Buying Guide
Do you need HDMI 2.1 specifically?
Look for a product listing that explicitly names HDMI 2.1, then compare its supported resolution and refresh rate. Among these options, Plugable provides two HDMI 2.1 ports, while Dell and UGREEN’s Steam Deck dock also explicitly list HDMI 2.1. The Anker has one HDMI 2.1 or DisplayPort 2.1 output. UGREEN’s 10-in-1 dock lists two HDMI ports but does not specify the HDMI version.
How many displays and ports do you need?
For two HDMI monitors without adapters, Plugable is the clearest match. For a desk with different connector types, Dell offers HDMI, DisplayPort, USB-C, and Thunderbolt 4 video connections. Anker pairs a single HDMI-or-DisplayPort output with Thunderbolt 5 video ports. Confirm that your laptop supports the number of external displays and modes you plan to use.
Will the dock charge your laptop?
Compare the dock’s stated power delivery with your laptop’s needs. Plugable lists up to 140W, Dell lists up to 130W for Dell devices and 96W for others, and the UGREEN gaming dock supplies up to 85W to the host from its 100W input. The provided details for the Anker and UGREEN 10-in-1 do not state a laptop charging output figure.
What should you check before buying?
Verify the laptop’s USB-C or Thunderbolt capabilities, operating-system display behavior, monitor inputs, and required cables. Maximum resolution and refresh rate depend on the complete setup, including the host, dock connection, and display. For macOS, check extended-display support in particular: the UGREEN 10-in-1 listing says connected displays mirror the same content on MacBook.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best HDMI 2.1 docking station for two monitors?
The Plugable Thunderbolt 5 Dock is the clearest fit here because it has two native HDMI 2.1 ports. Its maximum listed display modes depend on the host connection.
Does every USB-C docking station support HDMI 2.1?
No. USB-C describes the connector, not a guaranteed HDMI version or video capability. Check the dock’s stated HDMI standard and your laptop’s supported display output.
Can a Thunderbolt dock support HDMI 2.1?
Yes. The Plugable, Dell, and Anker docks list HDMI 2.1 alongside Thunderbolt connectivity. Their supported display configurations differ.
Does the UGREEN 10-in-1 dock qualify as an HDMI 2.1 dock?
Its provided product details list two HDMI ports but do not identify them as HDMI 2.1. Choose a dock that explicitly states HDMI 2.1 if that standard is essential.
Will a dock guarantee 4K at 120Hz?
No. A dock’s listed capability does not guarantee that every laptop and monitor combination can use that mode. Confirm support across the host, dock connection, display, and any required cables.