A 500W ATX power supply can suit a compatible everyday PC, but the right choice depends on its connectors, efficiency, and your components’ power needs. The Thermaltake Smart 500W is a standards-based option with two PCIe connectors; the ARESGAME AGV emphasizes Bronze certification, while the Apevia Venus lists a broad set of connectors. The 600W and 750W models below are higher-capacity alternatives, not 500W units.
| Product | Best for | Key distinction |
|---|---|---|
| Thermaltake Smart 500W | Builds needing two PCIe plugs | 80 PLUS certified |
| ARESGAME AGV 500W | Buyers seeking Bronze certification | Non-modular; five-year warranty stated in product name |
| Apevia Venus 500W | Builds needing listed legacy and SATA connectors | Six connector types listed |
| Thermaltake Smart 600W | Buyers who want more rated capacity | Two PCIe plugs; 80 PLUS certified |
| HIGH POWER 750W | Builds that call for substantially more capacity | 80 PLUS Gold, ATX 3.1 compatible |
Thermaltake Smart 500W

Best for: A standard ATX build whose parts need a 500W supply and benefit from two PCIe 6+2-pin connectors. This model is listed as providing 500W continuous output at 40°C and meeting Intel ATX 12V 2.31 and EPS 12V 2.92 standards.
It is 80 PLUS certified, with 80% efficiency under typical load, and includes active power factor correction and a 120mm cooling fan, according to the product name and listed details. The stated MTBF is 100,000 hours; that is a specification, not a guarantee of service life.
Why it stands out: The stated continuous output and two PCIe connectors make its capacity and graphics-power connections clear. Limitation: Its 80 PLUS certification is not Bronze or Gold, and 500W may not suit components with higher power requirements.
ARESGAME AGV Series 500W

Best for: Buyers who want a 500W unit described as 80 PLUS Bronze certified. The product name also identifies it as non-modular and states a five-year warranty. Those details can help shoppers compare efficiency labeling, cable design, and stated coverage.
Why it was selected: It matches the requested 500W capacity and offers a Bronze certification claim, a differentiator from the standard 80 PLUS models listed here. Limitation: The supplied product information does not specify connectors, dimensions, or detailed electrical standards. Check the full listing and your component requirements before choosing it.
Apevia Venus 500W

Best for: Buyers whose component list calls for a mix of mainboard, CPU, PCIe, SATA, peripheral, and floppy power connections. The listed connectors include one 20/24-pin main power, one 4+4-pin 12V, one 6+2 PCI Express, three SATA, three peripheral, and one floppy connector.
The unit is described as a 500W ATX power supply with an auto-thermally controlled black 120mm fan and a 115/230V switch. Why it was selected: Its connector list is unusually explicit in the supplied details, which helps buyers compare against a parts list.
Limitation: The provided information does not state an 80 PLUS certification or efficiency figure. Confirm the required input-voltage setting and connector needs before installation.
Thermaltake Smart 600W

Best for: Buyers who want more rated capacity than a 500W unit provides. This model is listed at 600W continuous output at 40°C, with two PCIe 6+2-pin connectors and compliance with Intel ATX 12V 2.31 and EPS 12V 2.92 standards.
It is 80 PLUS certified, with 80% efficiency under typical load, and lists active PFC and a 100,000-hour MTBF. Why it was selected: It is a straightforward capacity step-up from the 500W Thermaltake model while retaining similar stated standards and connector count.
Limitation: It is not a 500W power supply. Choose it only if the extra capacity fits your build plan; verify that its connectors meet the actual hardware requirements.
HIGH POWER 750W Gold ATX 3.1

Best for: Buyers whose system calls for substantially more than 500W and who are comparing newer-standard options. The product is described as 750W, 80 PLUS Gold certified, ATX 3.1 compatible, and PCIe 5.1 compliant. It also lists a 120mm fan, temperature control, and overcurrent and overvoltage protection.
Why it was selected: It provides a higher-capacity comparison for shoppers unsure whether a 500W unit is enough. Limitation: This is not a 500W model. The provided details do not specify exact connector counts, so verify cable availability for your components.
Buying Guide: How to Choose an ATX Power Supply
Is 500W enough for your PC?
Check the power requirements of the processor, graphics card, and other components, then compare the total with the supply’s rated output. A 500W label alone does not establish suitability for every build. If your parts require more capacity, compare higher-wattage options rather than assuming a 500W unit will work.
Which connectors should you verify?
Match the supply’s motherboard, CPU, graphics-card, SATA, and peripheral connectors to the devices in your build. The Thermaltake 500W lists two PCIe 6+2-pin connectors; the Apevia lists one such connector alongside SATA and peripheral plugs. Connector counts matter as much as the wattage label.
How should you compare efficiency and cable design?
80 PLUS certification labels differ: the listed Thermaltake units are 80 PLUS certified, ARESGAME is described as Bronze certified, and HIGH POWER as Gold certified. These labels are useful for comparing stated efficiency categories, but do not replace checking capacity and connectors. ARESGAME is explicitly non-modular; the other supplied details do not establish cable modularity.
What else should you check before buying?
Confirm the unit’s form factor and dimensions fit your case, and review the listing for electrical specifications and protections relevant to your build. For the Apevia, note its 115/230V switch. For ARESGAME, verify detailed connector and electrical information because it is not included in the supplied product details.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use a 600W power supply in a build planned for 500W?
A higher rated capacity can be considered if the unit and connectors suit the system. Confirm the parts’ requirements and case fit rather than selecting by wattage alone.
Does 80 PLUS certification mean a power supply is suitable for every PC?
No. Certification describes an efficiency category; it does not confirm that a unit has enough capacity or the right connectors for a particular system.
What does non-modular mean for the ARESGAME unit?
The product name identifies it as non-modular. Check its listing for cable details and compare them with your case and component needs.
Which listed 500W option specifies PCIe connectors?
The Thermaltake Smart 500W lists two PCIe 6+2-pin connectors. Apevia Venus lists one 6+2 PCI Express connector.
Is the HIGH POWER model a 500W PSU?
No. It is listed as a 750W power supply and is included only as a higher-capacity alternative.