The best 19-inch rack mount power distribution unit depends on outlet count, available rack space, cord reach, and whether you need listed surge protection. The Tecmojo and Pyle models suit buyers who want many outlets plus USB ports; StarTech offers a simpler eight-outlet option; ThePoEstore lists 12 outlets and surge-protection specifications; and CyberPower provides basic power distribution with vertical or horizontal mounting options.
| Product | Best For | Standout Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Tecmojo 1U PDU | High outlet count and USB charging | 19 outlets and four USB ports |
| Pyle PCO865 | Flexible mounting and many outlets | Detachable flanges and 15-foot cord |
| StarTech RKPW081915 | Simple rack power distribution | Eight outlets and six-foot cord |
| ThePoEstore 1U PDU | Surge-protection specifications | 12 outlets and stated 3600-joule rating |
| CyberPower CPS1215RM | Basic distribution with mounting flexibility | 10 rear outlets and 15-foot cord |
Tecmojo 1U 19-Outlet Rack PDU

Best for: Buyers who need a high outlet count and USB charging in a compact 1U rack unit. Tecmojo lists 16 rear-facing outlets and three front-facing outlets, plus four USB ports for powering devices. Its compact format is designed for standard 19-inch racks, AV cabinets, network closets, and enclosures.
A built-in 12-amp circuit breaker is listed to protect against circuit overloads. This makes the model a space-conscious option when many connections are needed at the rack. Check the connected equipment’s combined load against the unit’s stated 12-amp limit before choosing it.
Limitation: The listed breaker rating is lower than the 15-amp ratings specified for several other products here, so it may not suit buyers whose planned load requires a higher-rated unit.
Pyle PCO865 19-Outlet Rack PDU

Best for: Buyers who want numerous outlets and several installation choices. The 1U Pyle unit has 16 rear-facing outlets and three front-facing outlets, along with four USB ports. Its detachable mounting flanges can be configured for rack, wall, or under-counter installation.
The listed 15-amp circuit breaker shuts off AC input when the load draws too much power. The product also has a switched front-panel AC outlet, a covered power switch, and a 15-foot cord. Choose it if those mounting and cord options fit the installation better than a fixed rack-only design.
Limitation: Its 19-outlet layout and long cord may be more than a small rack setup needs. Confirm that the available mounting location and cord routing work for your space.
StarTech RKPW081915 8-Outlet PDU

Best for: Buyers who prefer a simpler outlet layout for a rack with fewer devices. This horizontal 1U PDU provides eight NEMA 5-15 outlets and is specified for 120V/15A operation. Its six-foot cord is intended to support connecting equipment while leaving the rack mobile.
The listed features include a rugged steel chassis, ground and surge-protection LED indicators, and power and reset switches. The unit is specified for 19-inch server racks at least four inches deep. It is a better fit than a 19-outlet strip when a lower outlet count is sufficient.
Limitation: Eight outlets offer fewer connections than the other high-capacity models in this comparison. The listed cord is also shorter than the 15- and 16-foot cords specified for some alternatives.
ThePoEstore 12-Outlet 1U PDU

Best for: Buyers comparing rack PDUs by stated surge-protection specifications and outlet arrangement. The 1U unit lists 12 NEMA 5-15R outlets: two on the front and 10 on the rear. It specifies 3600 joules and 10KA lightning protection, plus three LED indicators for power, protection, and fault indication.
The listed input is a NEMA 5-15P straight plug with a 12AWG, 16-foot power cord. The product description identifies 120V/20A operation. Review the stated input and electrical requirements carefully against the intended installation before purchase.
Limitation: Unlike the Tecmojo and Pyle models, the listed features do not include USB ports. Its front-and-rear outlet split may also be less suitable if all connections need to face one direction.
CyberPower CPS1215RM Basic PDU

Best for: Buyers who need basic power distribution and want the option of vertical or horizontal rack mounting. The CyberPower unit is listed for 100–125V/15A use and has 10 rear NEMA 5-15R outlets. It includes a NEMA 5-15P straight plug with a 15-foot power cord.
The product is described for data centers, network closets, and other electrically demanding applications. Its mounting flexibility can help buyers compare installation orientation without requiring a front-facing outlet layout.
Limitation: The supplied feature list describes this as a basic PDU and does not specify surge protection or USB charging. Choose another model if either feature is a requirement.
Buying Guide: How To Choose A 19-Inch Rack PDU
How Many Outlets Do You Need?
Count the devices that will connect to the PDU, then consider whether front-facing outlets are useful for temporary or easy-access connections. Tecmojo and Pyle list 19 total outlets, ThePoEstore lists 12, CyberPower lists 10, and StarTech lists eight. A higher count can reduce the need for additional strips, but it does not increase the unit’s electrical capacity.
What Electrical Rating Fits Your Setup?
Compare the PDU’s stated voltage and amperage with the installation and connected load. The listed ratings include 12 amps for Tecmojo, 15 amps for Pyle, StarTech, and CyberPower, and 20 amps for ThePoEstore. Confirm the product’s input details and requirements before buying; outlet count alone does not indicate how much total equipment the circuit can support.
Do You Need Surge Protection Or USB Ports?
Look for explicit feature details rather than assuming all rack PDUs provide the same protection or charging options. ThePoEstore lists surge-protection figures, while StarTech lists surge-protection indicators. Tecmojo and Pyle specify four USB ports. The CyberPower feature list does not specify surge protection or USB charging.
Will The Cord And Mounting Options Work?
Measure the route from the PDU to the power source and check whether the product’s mounting style fits the rack. Listed cord lengths range from six feet for StarTech to 15 feet for Pyle and CyberPower and 16 feet for ThePoEstore. Pyle also lists detachable flanges for rack, wall, or under-counter installation; CyberPower lists vertical or horizontal mounting.
Frequently Asked Questions
What Does 1U Mean For A Rack PDU?
1U describes the rack-height format specified for several models in this comparison. Check the product dimensions and the available rack space before installation.
Is A 19-Outlet PDU Better Than An 8-Outlet PDU?
Not for every setup. A 19-outlet model suits buyers connecting many devices, while an eight-outlet model may be sufficient when fewer connections are needed.
Does Every Rack PDU Include Surge Protection?
No. Compare the listed features for the exact model. Some products specify surge-protection details or indicators, while others are described as basic power distribution units.
Can A Rack PDU Charge Devices Through USB?
Some can. Tecmojo and Pyle list four USB ports; the other products in this comparison do not specify USB ports in the supplied features.
Should I Check The PDU’s Amperage Before Buying?
Yes. Match the stated rating and electrical requirements to the intended installation and connected load. Do not use outlet count as a substitute for checking power capacity.